Guest Artist · One Zentangle a Day · Virtual Book Club · Zentangle · Zentangle:ZIA

One Zentangle a Day – Day 37: Monoprint & Tangle Warmth

From you hostess Ellen:
 
Today’s lesson is about mono printing. And I did not do that part of today’s exercise. I did go to a craft shop this morning to get some material, but the prices was not right for me, so I skipped it.
I did try the tangle warmth. Never done it before, but I liked the effect of the line you draw over and over, or use a different pen on.
So I used it in today’s tile and wanted to see the effect of darkening part of a tangle on a favorite: echoism. Not sure it worked as well as on warmth, but I like the overall effect of the tile.
 
Cris mentioned the fact that we are on the last chapter op the book. And yes, I would love to get on and do a different book (shading comes to mind), but maybe with the summer coming (hopefully) maybe it’s a good idea to start in October or even November? Maybe we can have a poll? Or just start with a few and see who will join.
 
Have a great day all and see you next week,
Ellen

 

Day 37

 

I was not very impressed with warmth, until I saw Ellen’s version.  Clearly, she got it better than I did.  We were also to do mono-printing, which I did not do.  I just did a beginner class on Saturday, so I thought I would use it with the traditional first class string. I must say that I truly hated this until I shaded it.  I also tried a new tangle Kuke by Katy Abbott.  I definitely did that one too small.

Day37

From Maria Vennekens:

Todays new pattern  Warmth is a rather poor tangeleation of Keeko. So I decided to go over my boundaries and try the color exercise. As I did not have the materials that are listed on the page I tried to do it with inktence pencils on a tyvek “paper” wich I pressed as described on a soaked tile. The result was a very bold unclear drawing. Totally not zentangle and  not attractive (as the the exemples in the book are  – except the two on the right of the page) I tried to save it by working over the bold shapes with a brown and green micron. Also I used color pencils to give some shading, but even that did not save the tile. Hope someone else shows up with better work.

 

I will not work on fabric so do not expect a contribution for day 38.   

IMG 8309

 
And finally, here is Marty Deckel’s contribution:
 
Here’s Day 37..I have two, but I didn’t do the mono printing part of the lesson…seemed very involved and I don’t have some of the materials.  Instead, I did a tile with the Daily Tangle, Warmth, and added Poke Leaf.  I used it as a border, (tile-a), as Maria did in her Wednesday, 4/3/13, blog “Bordering on Reverie”, and bordered a pin (tile-b) that was my mother’s…it was so much fun!!  I used 08 and 01 Microns, brown and yellow Inktense pencils, a water brush, and clear and gold Gelly Roll pens, and, of course, graphite for shading. 
 

Day  37a OZAD

 

Day  37b OZAD

Wow. That is simply perfect!

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

