Zentangle · Zentangle:ZIA

Faith: Word of the Year

‘Cause I’ve got to have faith
I’ve got to have faith

– George Michael

A friend challenged the CZT community to give up resolutions this year and instead come up  with a single word that will define how we plan to live in the new year.  After much deliberation, I’ve decided that my word for this year is faith.

Why faith? After 33 years of work, my husband is now looking for a job. In this economy, faith is necessary to believe that he will find a job and that everything will turn out for the better. I have faith that he will find a job he loves, and I have faith that we’ll get by until he does.  I have faith that even though the future is uncertain, worrying about it does not help. I have faith that I will finish my \ book in the next few weeks and that people will enjoy it. I have faith that my daughter will succeed in her AP US History, despite the daily complaints. Without faith, all I would have is stress and fear. And who wants to live like that?

The Diva Challenge this week is to use the theme new year, or 2014. Instead of taking it literally, I’ve decided to tangle my word for the year.

faith 3

PS – Want to learn some more benefits of faith?  You can find articles that faith is necessary for positive thinking and helps you when times are tough.  Joseph Ratzinger in What It Means to Be a Christian  says that only in faith can “selfishness, the real opposite of love, comes to an end.” And Pastor Paul  says that for those who live by faith, the truth is a simple thing.

18 thoughts on “Faith: Word of the Year

  1. Your artwork is stunning and I’m totally sure that you don’t have to worry a bit with your strength and positivity. I wish you and your family all the best for 2014.

    Like

  2. Cris, KEEP THE FAITH!!!! I loved your entry, and the message!!! I’m sorry to hear about your situation, but it sounds like, you know what to do, and you’re already doing it!!! Keeping Faith!!! Many blessings are wished for you and you family in this New Year! xo :0) Share Humanity(those are my words for the New Year)

    Like

  3. Your piece is beautiful Cris. I wish I could have more faith sometimes. I’m a big worrier. Best of luck to your husband on his job search!

    Like

  4. Love the word, the quote, the tangle… especially their 3-D-ed-ness-es.
    Also handy to remember that we don’t exist to solve “problems”;
    “problems” exist to solve us.

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

