Zentangle · Zentangle:ZIA

Spiraling to a Close

The human mind always makes progress, but it is a progress in spirals. Madame de Stael

Once again the Diva offered a challenge that fits what is going on in my life. As we are getting closer to the end of the book, it becomes obvious that this book-writing process is not linear, but spiral. Starting from a seed of an idea last August to hours spent in writing, tangling, design, editing, proof reading. Like a spiral, the jobs seem to be ever-expanding, the closer we get to the end. Like a spiral, it has the potential to never come to an end.

Just as your string in Zentangle is an arbitrary limit, so we have set an arbitrary limit to the end of this book. The end of the Kickstarter campaign is March 28. That is the last day to get an autographed, limited-edition copy. Our deadline to get the book to the printer is March 30. I tell my students that if there were no deadlines, nothing would ever get finished.

So, in order to actually have a chance to meet this deadline, I am trying to work smarter, not harder. I tangled a spiral of flukes so that I could use it for the challenge and also as an illustration in the book. I love using bold, geometric, graphic tangles in a spiral and curving them into a softer form.

20140325-112515.jpg

10 thoughts on “Spiraling to a Close

  1. Awesome tangle!!!!! How do I sign up for your new book? On Mar 25, 2014 11:27 AM, “Tangled Up In Art” wrote:

    > Cris @ TangledUpInArt posted: “The human mind always makes progress, > but it is a progress in spirals. Madame de Stael Once again the Diva > offered a challenge that fits what is going on in my life. As we are > getting closer to the end of the book, it becomes obvious that this > book-writi”

    Like

    1. Charlotte, When it is published, it will be available on Amazon and hopefully bookstores everywhere. For now, you can only get it through kickstarter.com if you pledge at least $30. The link to pledge is here:

      Like

  2. I love the detail in this – it reminds me of the patterning on the Kings and Queens in a pack of playing cards. Great shading too! I keep coming back to this because of the ’tilted’ perspective you have achieved … was it with the shading? As Donald says, it seems like it’s rising off the page! Best, Henny 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

