classes · Zentangle · Zentangle: Zendala · Zentangle:ZIA

Before and After (and After and After)

Spring has finally sprung. I spent a few gorgeous hours at The Columbus Zoo yesterday while Birdie did her zoo aide training. The weather was beautiful, the animals were awake and entertaining us, and the flowers were in bloom. The pink tulips were so gorgeous I couldn’t resist tangling them.

a pink tulipZoo tulips

 

Tulips

As I told the class on Saturday, sometimes I just need color. It is one of those days, so here is the tangled tulip, then with shading, then with an Inktense wash, then with some Prismacolor highlights and shadows. I was so happy that Laura challenged us to use Carole Ohl’s pattern Think. I’ve seen it before, but didn’t understand its true potential until I saw all of the tangleations Laura did with it. I used it to represent the fences that surrounded the tulip gardens.

I was also influenced by my students. I showed them how to use Inktense pencils to add a touch of color to their Zendalas in Saturday’s “Zendala Ooh-La-La” class. This is the first time I’ve introduced color to my Zentangle classes. As you can see, these talented ladies took to it like they’ve been at it for years. I love it when a class takes off and we all inspire each other.

IMG 4420IMG 4423Arvetta ZendalaLaura ZendalaJulie ZendalaMichelle ZendalaIMG 4433

Finally, I wanted to give a shout out to Caren Mlot, aka, TangleMania. She just published a new e-book featuring my new tangle Sochi. I promised her I wouldn’t post the step-outs for a while, but I didn’t promise to not share in person. I think we will play with that at the Tuesday Morning tangle club tomorrow. (Art Garden Studios in Gahanna from 10-12.) Come Join us.

10 thoughts on “Before and After (and After and After)

  1. Love your tangled tulips Cris, and your zendala class looks like it was lots of fun!
    It was great to meet you in person at Tangle U! Can’t believe it’s been over a week already!

    Like

  2. Hi Cris! I enjoyed seeing your different ways of playing with your tulips. It’s always fun to see how shading, coloring, and different tools create such different effects. The Diva’s new tangle looks great as a background and reminds me of a little Vitruvius at a distance.

    Like

  3. Hi Cris!

    Your tulips are so wonderful, but I especially loved seeing your Zentangle student’s work. Don’t you just love it when everything falls together and happiness flows through the class? I see little pieces of ‘happy’ throughout everyone’s work! Just ducky! 🙂

    Happy Tangling,

    Jacque Solomon
    http://www.tanglebright.com

    Like

  4. Like the tangled tulips. I also like seeing the differences that different finishes make. I think I like the color best. The students’ work looks great. Looking forward to meeting you next week.

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

