Zentangle · Zentangle: Zendala

Quarters and Cups

This week’s Diva Challenge is to use a circle  as your string.  I have challenged myself to use up a full tin of Renaissance Zendalas because my mom always said, “If you don’t like someone, it’s because you don’t know them well enough.” I really want to like Renaissance Zendalas since I love both the black and white ones. So, I will do the whole tin and maybe when I am done, I will know them well enough to like them.

Following my usual process: use whatever is closest, I used the coins in my pocket. I cropped the coins and traced around the coins. Since I am experimenting with different tangles on Renaissance tiles, I did a sort of sampler. The pepper is done by layering white Gelly Roll over a circle I filled completely with black. I do really like the way it adds a subtle accent. The lines in the back are done with a clear Sakura Glaze pen.  It really is subtle in person. I’m surprised by how the scanner seems to make it bolder.

Renaissance zendala004

For this one, I used a paper bathroom cup. The large circle is the top and the smaller circle is from tracing the bottom.

Renaissance zendala003

Three down (the other is on my Facebook page) and 18 more to go. If you want to try your hand at Zendala tiles, let me know and I’ll get you a set.

10 thoughts on “Quarters and Cups

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

