classes · Zentangle · Zentangle:ZIA

October

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers. It would be terrible if we just skipped from September to November, wouldn’t it?…” ~Lucy Maud Montgomery

I love October, the month of apple-picking, decorating pumpkins, falling leaves, watching football, and wearing pink.  We’ve been so busy here enjoying October that I haven’t had time to post regularly. Hope you are enjoying your October also. Here’s a peek at what we’ve been working on around here.

Trip to Tripoli class
Trip to Tripoli class mosaic with my Gahanna students. I LOVE the creativity in this one
Trip to Tripoli class
First tiles in Trip to Tripoli class. We did this as a guided meditation. Beautiful.
paradox class
The Paradox of Paradox tile 1 mosaic.
Tangled pumpkin black
My friend and tangler extraordinaire Patty B gave me this off-white ‘carvable’ pumpkin. Guess I could have carved it, but I tangled it instead. I used 01, 03, and 05 Microperm pens. These pens won’t smear and are nicely black, unlike some of the other pens I tried. See how gray the crescent moon looks? If you can’t find microperms or want to support this site, they are available in my shop.
Tangled pumpkin white
I thought it was kind of blah with just the black, so I added some white with an American Crafts Galaxy marker. It produced a nice, opaque white that didn’t smear. (Also available in the shop.)
Tangled pumpkin brown
Pencil didn’t work for shading, so I grabbed my brown Pitt pens and added some brown. Because, really, MORE is more. I’m very happy with this piece now and it was so fun to do.
BorderClassGahanna10212014
Bordering on Borders class results. From the people who worked on tiles.
BorderClassGahanna10212014  4
Borders class from the people who did pumpkins on 6×6 watercolor paper. I love that everyone did their own thing in this class.
Diva190 pink1
Dragonair in pink stripes. Tangled using pink Micron over watercolor stripes. For the Diva challenge.
Diva190 pink2
I had so much fun with tinting the pink and tangling pink-on-pink that I made “extras.” These are for sale in my shop, along with a neat case, also in pink, that is perfect for tangling on the go. It holds a handful of tiles, keeping them dry, safe, and clean, taking up little more room than the tiles themselves.

8 thoughts on “October

  1. I LOVE the gourds and what you did with them. Don’t imagine I don’t plan on stealing the ideas and claiming they are my own! Say, if once used a natural dried gourd, how would one prepare the surface? Kudos on your site and wonderful work!!!

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

