Zentangle: Zendala

Straying Outside the Lines

A line is a dot that went for a walk.
-Paul Klee

I will admit it, I binged on Outlander all weekend. I also tangled while doing so. Had this been a “regular” show, I probably would have completed a dozen Zendalas, but if you’ve seen the show, you’ll know that you can’t look away for TOO long. Spending hours watching TV made me feel like a rebel. So, being in a contrary mood, I wanted to start with pre-strung Zendalas and go off in unexpected directions.

  • For my first, I used a string that looks like a flower, and my earlier versions are very flowery. Not so the latest where I combined sections.
    Three earlier Zendalas using this string in which I mostly stayed in the lines.
    Three earlier Zendalas using this string in which I mostly stayed in the lines.

    This is what happens when you combine sections! Remember: your string is just a suggestion, even if it is beautifully drawn by the talented folks at Zentangle.com
    This is what happens when you combine sections! Remember: your string is just a suggestion, even if it is beautifully drawn by the talented folks at Zentangle.com
  • For the next one, the string is all triangles. So, I challenged myself to do all curvy lines. It turned out to be a monotangle of Mooka. It’s not quite as dramatic as the first. I’m not sure it is quite done yet, but it is close enough to share.
    A straight-line string with a curvy fill.
    A straight-line string with a curvy fill.

    To see an earlier version of this string done with all straight lines, take a look at “I’m Glowing.”

  • Finally, to round out the trio, here is this week’s Diva challenge: complete a tile using only straight lines. This is my least favorite of the three and by far my least favorite of the prestrung Zendala strings. I always find completing this one a challenge. It hurts my brain. I tangled using straight lines, but couldn’t help myself and followed the curves when it came time to shade.renzen003 copyAn earlier version can be found on the back of the Beauty of Zentangle. (If you don’t have the book, you can still see the back cover on Amazon.com)

So, my dot walked all over this week and took me off in unexpected and somewhat interesting places. I hope you enjoyed sharing the journey.

10 thoughts on “Straying Outside the Lines

  1. I think we were all glued to that this weekend….what a disappointment they didn’t air the new episode! I do get more tangling in watching/listening to baseball games! I love your Zendalas this week, but then, I love all your work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My word, so much beautiful work, I don’t know where to start. The colours, perhaps, you have such an eye for subtle combinations and that flash of white. the straight line string with the curvy fill had me weak at the knees. Mooka is still a Nemesis for me, although I am improving, but this is a masterclass. (Can you have a mistressclass?) I always enjoy visiting here and go away wanting to do my own drawing better. Thanks, again, Chris.

    Like

    1. Wow. Thanks! What kind words. I do love playing with those colors. Funny you should use the word “masterclass.” I have been thinking for a while now about doing an e-book or online class on Renaissance tiles.

      Like

  3. Based on the title I thought at first you were going to rebel against the straight lines only guideline. maybe you had to get the others out of your system first. I do like the ones with all the Mooka around the outside. Maybe it is the contrast of the curvy with the straight. Your straight line Zendala turned out well. With the shading you can get a curved effect did not think of doing that with my Hollibaugh.

    Like

  4. Oh my… Love, love, love ALL of these Zendala’s and now you’ve inspired me to go back to mine which are collecting dust on a shelf (thank you!). Your straight lines done in a very curvy zendala are really cool! But, oh my again, the Zendala with the mooka’s…. AWESOME!!! BREATH TAKING!! I want so much to learn how to shade and colour like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am still in awe of all the beautiful work you posted this week. Your zendalas are amazing and I’m afraid I’m hard pressed to pick a favorite. Your straight line offering is so colorful and shows so much movement. I love what you did with it. For now, I think I will just study your work and learn from it. Beautiful work!

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

