My Tangles

New Tangle: Minoru

Yesterday, I took my daughter to look at Oberlin College. I was surprised to find that their music conservatory was designed by the architect of the World Trade Center, Minoru Yamasaki. I love the pattern made by the long, narrow windows, and since this week’s Diva challenge is to tangle using straight lines, I challenged myself to come up with a tangle based on this building.

IMG_1129 IMG_1132 IMG_1133

I am not the diva, but if you’ve never tried to deconstruct a pattern to create a tangle, I challenge you to do so. It is always an interesting exercise. This process leads to a greater appreciation of existing tangles that someone else has designed for you and of the pattern you are using. It can be frustrating, but remember that it takes practice to simplify the elements of a pattern so that it can be reproduced and at the same time keep its essential nature.

In that spirit, I give you the tangle Minoru, named for the architect Minoru Yamasaki.

minoru

I didn’t do any research to see if this tangle had already been “named and claimed” because I wanted to practice deconstructing it myself, but if you have seen it before, please let me know in the comments.

Another tile with only straight lines.
Another challenge tile – using only “straight” lines. (Not that ANY of them is particularly straight. But, I did try.)

 

11 thoughts on “New Tangle: Minoru

  1. My comment is about your Diva challenge tile because that’s the one I tried also. Mine looks flat as a pancake. You achieved great depth. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice new tangle, Cris! I find it very difficult to deconstruct a pattern into a tangle. I love your tile and how Minoru looks like a curtain being held back by Static!

    Like

  3. How very cool that you were able to introduce your new (excellent) tangle as part of a Diva Challenge! I love this! I hope you don’t mind if I Pin it!

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

