Paintintg

Just for Fun!

Happy Paint Party Friday!

It seems like forever since I sat down to make art with no purpose other than having fun. It was wonderful.

I got inspired by some posts over on Facebook by people using Alcohol Ink on Yupo. I’ve had Yupo sitting around from another inspiring post years ago, so I treated myself to the whole set of alcohol inks. (Buy wholesale is great!) After two weeks of waiting, they finally came!

Adirondak alcohol ink & yupo. The excitement begins.
Supplies assembled: Adirondack alcohol ink & yupo. Ooh. I’m getting excited!
It starts with a single drop of ink. Look at that halo!
It begins with a single drop of ink. Look at that halo!
Holy smoke! Look at what happens when you layer one on top of another.
Holy smoke! Look at what happens when you layer one on top of another.
No mud
Look, mom, no mud! Dare I say “mistake proof?”

And the finished piece:

Gaia.
Gaia. AKA Primordial ooze.

And that was so much fun that I decided to try another. I found an abandoned colored pencil drawing that had three clown fish and some coral sketched in pencil. The results may not win any prizes, but I really enjoyed making it! And, it is finished. When I taught scrapbooking, my motto was, “Done is better than perfect.”

alcohol ink on colored pencil on Yupo.  I love this combination!
“We found Nemo” alcohol ink on colored pencil on Yupo. I love this combination!

Hope you have some fun getting thigs done this week!

11 thoughts on “Just for Fun!

  1. Oh , fun fun!! I have many alcohol inks I’ve used in other ways but don’t have yupo paper to paly with them on-hmmm….perhaps it’s time to look for some:)

    Like

  2. Cris – Once again, you’ve inspired me. I’ve been thinking about creative ways to create Zentangle strings. By leaving more negative space, this has all sorts of potential in that area. How long does it take to dry the paper?<

    Like

    1. Thanks. I’m not sure about drying time, but it seems pretty short. I got interrupted in the middle of one and it was dry when I came back 15 minutes later. I’ve seen people tangle using white Gelly roll on top. Looks fabulous.

      Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

