Zentangle: Zendala

Better Late than Never

I am still playing catch-up after my travels in July, demos at the fair, and then the HOOT convention. Plus 1 houseguest, 1 scavenger hunt, and 7 trips to the zoo to drop off Alexa at her volunteer job. (In case you wonder, it is 45 minutes each way with no traffic. There is always traffic.)

I did manage to do the diva challenge last week. Still can’t believe I missed 2 weeks in a row. I just now had time to post it. So, without further ado, here is ZenDivaDala challenge #230.I gathered my tangling supplies, plopped down on the couch with my iPad, and saw the challenge. I LOVE Zendalas. I don’t love tracing them. Also, I was in “lump mode” as we call it here. So, I tried drawing the Zendala on my tile.

Not the greatest thing since sliced bread, but it will do.

Zendaladare-1
Freehand drawing of the Zendala dare template. Yes, I needed an eraser.

Here it is all done.

Zendaladare-1b
Now, I wish I had traced the template. I don’t like it all skewed.

The next night, I printed a copy before lumping out.

Zendaladare-2
Orbs done as a sampler of tangleations of bales & crescent moon. Clockwise from top left: 8-c, crescent moon, cant, ixorus, fife, crescent moon tangleation. I ignored the string except to weave them together a la Hollibaugh. Paradox in the center completes the look.

I really liked how this one turned out. But I wanted to see what it looked like with all the spheres the same.

Here is version 3, first what I thought was done, except for shading.
Zendaladare-3a

It was not. After I shaded, I had to decide what to do with that empty section. Hollibaugh-style to the rescue again.
Zendaladare-3b

I got a gray Tombow marker in my Tints on Tan kit, so I thought I would try adding more shading with that. It’s OK, but I feel like I have more control with my pencil.
Zendaladare-3c

9 thoughts on “Better Late than Never

  1. I rather liked the first one, it had character with its little limp. The last one is fantastic though with all that shading. I have just bought your shades book so I hope to learn a lot by the time I have finished it 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, all three are very beautiful and I think you made up for missing the last weeks 🙂 The second one is fantastic with Hollibaugh in it and the third one is absolutely gorgeous. I think you did quite well drawing the free hand one by the way.

    Like

  3. WOW, WOW, WOW! I love them all, but my favourite is the first one. It just looks a bit more relaxed yet reminds me of a circus or country fair. I LOVE Fife in the circles – it’s beautiful!

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

