Zentangle

Looking Forward – Looking Back

Every year WordPress sends out a ‘year in review.’ I was shocked to find out that I had only written five posts since August! Between travel, illness, and technical difficulties, time sped by without me noticing. Last year I kept a paper calendar. For the first time in 20 years or so, I have a written account of my year. It was easy to flip through and see where I spent my time. Here are some highlights from the calendar.

2015 By the Numbers

  • 114 days away from home, including vacations, two Zentangle retreats, and several nights in the hospital, both as a patient and caregiver.
  • 49 Zentangle classes and demos taught, including the HOOT convention, Artiscape, and CanTangle, a CZT-only event in Canada.
  • 25 pounds lost.
  • 1 art show  – my first

2015  in Pictures

Looking Forward to 2016

This year, once again, I have chosen to not make any resolutions. Instead, I am focusing on a singe word as my intention. My word is JOURNEY. As a recorving perfectionist, resolutions just  don’t work for me. As soon as I break one, I toss the whole thing. The resolution is broken? On with business as usual.

The idea of a “Journey” has an entirely different connotation. I’ve gone on enough trips to know that there are bumps in the road, detours, and just unexpected things. When these happen, I don’t give up and go home, but continue moving forward, steadily  getting closer to my destination. Getting there is usually more than half the fun. A journey implies not so much single-minded determination as it does a willingness to explore, take things as they come with more a spirit of adventure.

journey journalAt the end of this journey called 2016, I hope to arrive lighter, happier, and satisfied with the trip; having taught and inspired others to rediscover their inner creativity, nurture their intuitive sense, and enjoy sharing their art. I invite you to come along with me.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward – Looking Back

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

