Zentangle:ZIA

Stacked Bijou

This week’s Diva Challenge by guest blogger  Jane Reiter is to start with a Bijou tile and then stack it on progressively bigger squares. I cannot remember the last time I had so much fun with a challenge! And was so surprised.

I thought it would be quick. After all, how long can it take to do 1 Bijou and a couple of border tangles. How about, um, 6 hours? Or a bit more.

First, I had to find a frame, because I know I would lose some pieces if I just let the stack lie around like I usually do. Going through my frame stash, I found 2 of these. Since I am still doing pretty much everything on Renaissance tiles these days, I thought I should get some tan/renaissance/brown paper for the stacks. I tried making my own using spray ink. That just made a mess.

IMG_7225
Found on clearance for about $5 each.

So, I dug out my scrapbook paper and started cutting “almost-squares.” Even with my fancy Creative Memories paper cutter, I could not get a true square. So, in Zentangle fashion, I told my critic to shut it and decided to use  what I had. As an aside, one of the things I like best about Zentangle is the ability to create art without making a mess. Well, not today.


Between all of the papers, tools, and pencils and pens, I made quite the mess today.

I used a white Bijou tile  quite frankly because I forgot I had black ones. But then I colored it with some of the pens and pencils I bought to try out on Renaissance tiles. I really love how it turned out.

bijou-stack1
So many colors. So much fun. Yes, it started out as white!

It is after 2 am, now, so excuse any “unusual” English. I was too excited to go to bed. I really wanted to finish this project. Then I couldn’t wait to share it with you.

bijou-stack4

I’m hoping to have time to make one for the other frame. I think a pair of them would be lovely on my wall.

My A to Z of Zentangle blog challenge starts Friday. Be sure to stop by every day in April for a new post. I think you will like it.

21 thoughts on “Stacked Bijou

  1. Wow! That is stunning. Thanks for sharing the bits of your process. I now wish I’d been more resolved to invest the time (and the mess). You inspire me to put this back on the To Do (it properly) List;-)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Where do I start? 1. I love the way you drew order out of chaos. I can do the chaos bit, less confident with the order part. 2. The colours – wow. 3. You put as much work into the bijou as I sometimes put into a whole piece. 4. Lesson learned – you get out of it what you put in and this was really worth a “white night”.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much. It was so much fun playing with all of the pens I bought to use in the Renaissance book. I never planned to use them all in one piece. Was just looking for the “best” one. Turns out that they’ve all got good and bad features. (Duh) You are right about putting in the work. Since I am in “book mode” right now, everything takes longer and has more thought put into it than usual.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

