A to Z of Zentangle

C is for Creativity -Day 3of the A to Z of Zentangle #atozchallenge

Creativity001
Tangles used: Crescent Moon and C’s the Day

People are often surprised when they see my Zentangles, and I tell them that I do them without following a pattern. One of the beautiful things about the Zentangle Method(tm) is that everyone is encouraged to interpret patterns in their own way and express their own individuality and style. Even in a beginner class when all of the students do the same patterns, the results are unique to each person. Take a look at this example from a class:

creativity-class-pic.jpg
A typical class mosaic. Isn’t it wonderfully diverse?

Many people insist that they are “not creative.” I disagree. Everyone is born creative. Everyone experiences joy in creating. By the time they reach adulthood, though, many have begun to doubt or deny their own creativity.

Creativity is simply  doing something in a different way or looking at a problem in a different way or from a new angle. Even people in so-called ‘non-creative’ jobs will do better when they learn to solve problems in creative ways. Want to read more?  Here are 2 articles on why it’s important to be creative: from elite daily and be more with less.

Missed the beginning  of the series? It all starts with  Appreciation.

8 thoughts on “C is for Creativity -Day 3of the A to Z of Zentangle #atozchallenge

  1. I’ve always known I was creative, because my mother said so and it was obvious, because she said everybody is and so I believed her. But… although I can knit, sew, crochet, cross stitch, embroider, make clothes, write prose and poetry (To some extent anyway) I never could draw and, of course, always wanted to. Well, late though it is, drawing is becoming a possibility thanks to Zentangle and thanks to the inspiration I get from you, Chris, and other Zentangle artists like you with a lot more natural talent than I have. It’s good to still be learning.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

