A to Z of Zentangle

J is for Journal, Day 10 of the A to Z of Zentangle Challenge #atozchallenge

journal.jpg
Official tangle Jonqal. Quote by Christina Baldwin

It was hard for me to choose between journal and journey for the letter ‘j’. Zentangle is about the journey, not the destination. But every good CZT will tell you that.

What was a bit more surprising to me is how much each piece of Zentangle art is a reflection of the thoughts and feelings you are experiencing while you are creating it.

Therefore, each tile can be a mini non-verbal journal. This type of journaling can be very powerful. When you journal with words, you can remember and even recreate the feelings you had when you wrote them. For example, if you got into a fight with a loved one and wrote in your journal how angry you are because so-and-so did this and that and how mad you are, when you go back later and reread that page, you are likely to get angry all over again. On the contrary, if you got into a fight and did a Zentangle and just wrote “fight with XX” on the back, you might discover that when you revisit that tile, you see things from a different perspective.

People often ask me what do I do with all of my completed tiles. I keep most of mine. I love looking back at tiles I’ve done months or years earlier. It is even more enjoyable when I’ve taken the time to write a word or two on the back about what is happening in my life.

Please take the time to write the date on the back of your tiles. Then keep them. Picking out random tiles and putting them in date order can be a fascinating record of your Zentangle journey.

Missed the beginning of the series? It all starts with Appreciation.

 

One thought on “J is for Journal, Day 10 of the A to Z of Zentangle Challenge #atozchallenge

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

