Zentangle · Zentangle: Black tiles · Zentangle:ZIA

Medicine & the Arts Fair

Today, I participated in an arts fair at the Ohio State hospital presented by the Medicine & the Arts program. It was so interesting to be able to present the healing side of Zentangle. Sometimes I focus so much on the creative side that I might forget for a while how beneficial it is. There were so many medical students, nurses, therapists, and patients that had never heard of Zentangle before, and I loved getting the chance to explain it to them.

display-board
My display board. Thanks to Beckah for the title “Art Heals” and for talking to me about how Zentangle has helped her.
flat-brutus
I even had a visit from “Flat Brutus.”
me-artsfair
Yours truly at my table. I couldn’t have asked for a nicer day or more accommodating hosts.

It was also the perfect opportunity to work on this week’s Diva challenge: use the tangle Dreamcatcher.

This is a new tangle for me, and I like it. It reminds me a bit of Tripoli, but I find it easier to draw. I’m still working on my backgrounds from Sharla’s botanical retreat. One day I may do some botanicals on them, but don’t hold your breath!

dreamcatcher-tile
I wanted a scarlet and gray version for OSU, so I used my printed black tile. Shaded with Zenstone.
dreamcatcher
Many dreamcatchers on another alcohol ink background. I made this at the same time as last week’s challenge piece.

Finally, it was such a glorious day, that I had to walk around my alma mater. Paradoxically, there are both more buildings and more green space than there used to be. Enjoy a glimpse of Ohio State.

mirror-lake
Mirror Lake is always lovely.
Fall is perfect in Columbus.
Fall is perfect in Columbus.

8 thoughts on “Medicine & the Arts Fair

  1. I love the loops on the ends of the petals/points, they add just a little something more. (A vacuous thing to say, I know.) The bigger piece is lovely, with the muted colours and plenty of space. A pleasure, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mirror Lake looks great and so look both of your dreamcatchers, especially the one on the coloring background is my favorite. I think it is a fine experience to have been participated on the arts fair at the hospital!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

