Zentangle

Waybop Jewelry 

I am writing from another hotel room. It is a new semester and the concerts have begun. Such is the life of a mom whose kid is a musician. So here I am back in Bloomington for the second time in as many weeks. 

Lately, I have been in a gem rut and all of my tiles end up looking like jewelry. This weeks Diva Challenge was to use the tangle Way Bop that I learned at ZenAgain last November. It is my absolute favorite tangle lately. I love how many ways you can draw it. 

So, without further ado, here is my waybop broach. 

Colored with InkTense pencils. Possibly done…
But, it needs something.

Crescent Moon is always a good choice
Perhaps just shading.

But, there is all that white space…

#graphiteisthenewblack because mooka and gems are like peanut butter and jelly

And yet, I still wanted something. I thought I would take my blending stump and soften the mooka to try and push it further into the background. 

I did not realize I had put it down into some spilled water. 

DO NOT TRY TO SMUDGE WITH A WET BLENDING STUMP!

Unless you like a splotchy mess. Thank heavens for my sumo grip eraser. Cleaned up the whole mess and I decided to go with a light InkTense wash with white printemps. 

Finally looks done to me.

This morning, I got together with a friend to tangle and did another. 

Renaissance, 3Z, and Waybop: these are a few of my favorite things.

Perhaps one day I will learn to draw a waybop that doesn’t steal all of the attention. 

Or maybe not… what do you think?

8 thoughts on “Waybop Jewelry 

  1. To say it with my daughter’s words (she was looking at quite a few entries with me): “This is the cooooolest of all!” Thanks also for sharing the process, there is so much I can learn there.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

