Zentangle

Distractions

When I saw that this week’s Diva challenge was a duotangle of Marasu and Molygon, I knew I had to do it, even though I knew I shouldn’t let myself get distracted by tangling when I have so many other things to do. Like getting classes ready for my two classes at Artiscape.

artiscape-flyer

This is a great mixed-media weekend of creativity.

Since I really wanted to participate in the challenge, I took 15 minutes to do a Bijou tile.

img_0206
Renaissance Bijou with Marasu & Molygon

I grabbed my half-dead, scratchy black pen, so used that to add the illusion of depth.

But, that was so much fun that I couldn’t help myself, I decided to do one on a regular tile.

img_0210
Molygon party

I wanted to leave some “white” space, but I couldn’t just let it float there, so I tried to add some shadows to ground it, so now it is grounded in mid-air. I think I will add that to the half-done pile and add some more tangles when it is not in “duo-tangle” mode.

But, then I really felt like I needed to do one on white. And on this one, I wanted to do it like a traditional tile, with a border and string. I thought I was going to hate it, but it ended up being my favorite one.

4-up

Finally, here are a few I did yesterday while watching, I mean listening to, the Academy Awards. I just got home and couldn’t find my regular tools, so I did it with what I could find: a white gel pen, a white charcoal pencil, and a graphite pencil.

img_0209

And the last one. Also done yesterday when I couldn’t find my tangling tools.

IMG_0207.JPG

I was amazed by how pink that walnut brown pencil turned when I put white charcoal on it.

So, hope you enjoyed my distractions. Tomorrow is a very good day for not getting distracted! Tomorrow always is.

19 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. Oh Wow, I love all your tiles! I’m going to have to get some renaissance tile, you make them look so beautiful. My favorite is the one with the shadow molygon under the marasu, I love the way you used the grey and sepia on this one. I also really like the last two tiles where you didn’t have your tangling tools and used whatever tool was near. 🙂

    Like

  2. I find it amazing what you do without regular tools or half-dead pens! Again I find it hard to pick a favourite because every piece is so unique. I’d love to take a class with you but unfortunately I am too far away…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love all your duotangles! It’s funny how sometimes when you get an idea in your head…you just have to get it out on paper…. or it haunts you! My favourite is your last Ile with Flux. I love how the Walnut Brown turned Lilac. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

