Zentangle

Getting Frunky with 3Z’s

I combined the Diva Challenge with my 3Z class this morning. We had so much fun! Wish you all could have been there!

First my Frunky challenge. I had extra time this morning before class, so I thought I would tangle. That may not have been the best choice. I got so caught up in it that I completely lost track of time. And almost had to teach in my pajamas.

I enjoyed this tangle so much that I decided to teach it for the second tile. But, first things first.


Didn’t they do a great job?

So here is the second tile, where we got frunky.
frunky-mosaic-web

And, we had so much fun that we did a third. Here is our giant mosaic (with a few of my samples thrown in.)
mosaic-big-web

Have you tried 3Zs yet? They may be my favorite tile, even more than Renaissance! What do you think?

19 thoughts on “Getting Frunky with 3Z’s

  1. I think your students did an excellent job and they clearly got a lot out of it – you can’t do Zentangle by halves, can you? I can’t agree with you about the triangle tiles though. I don’t particularly like them. I suspect it’s partly because I make my own – can’t bear to pay mother ship prices + postage but my geometry gets a bit confused and I get some interesting shapes! But, funnuly enough, I did use one for the Challenge this week and found it suited Frunky – or Frunky suited it – very well. I like your tiles both with and without shade but your photos really do demonstrate how essential shading can be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would have been funny. My students would have gotten a laugh out of it, but the people at the post office and grocery store might not have seen the humor 🙂 with my luck, I would have gotten a traffic ticket. That Would be a story for the policeman!

      Like

  2. I’ve also become very fond of Frunky. It’s not hard to master and it has lots of possibilities. I haven’t tried the 3Z’s yet. They seem to make for interesting mosaics, so I can see why they are great for classes. (P.S.: On Laura’s Frunky post, you put the link for your Noom post. I went back to your blog and found this, but I just thought I’d let you know.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am still getting used to the 3Z tiles. I love how you did yours and how nicely they go together for student mosaics. Frunky looks great and I can relate to almost having to go teach in one’s pj’s, LOL!

    Like

Comments make me happy. Please let me know what you think.

